Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Near Perfect

2005-01-12 - 5:03 p.m.

I've been completely sober - no booze and no pot - for FAR TOO LONG. It's only been just under two weeks since I last had any pot, and longer since the last drink, but already I'm going crazy.

In other news, today has been a hibernation (hopefully in a good way) day. A rugby friend gave me some mix CDs to cherish, mostly alternative and punky stuff from the 80s and 90s, and it's got me thinking that the reason why I've been sick of the constant replaying of 80s music is because I've only been hearing the constant replay of crappy 80s music. It's been nice to have a day with a minimum of television and just music around. My only beef is that the rugby friend didn't make his own liner notes, so I may never know who made some of this music. One of the quirkiest offerings on the CD is someone covering a Nirvana song so that I can actually hear and understand the lyrics. Weird.

Other stuff of note: one of the features of the D&D group is that one of us usually kept notes and posted a log of the day, which was not only entertaining, but also useful because we're on some globe-spanning, world-saving quest with a lot of chapters, and I can't be bothered to remember which Oomp Loompa has the Mystical Shell of Foretelling and whether that was in the City of A Thousand Grinning Knives or Land of the Giggling Dragons. Anyway, the usual chronicler sort of dropped out (due to health problems or whatever) and while one or another of the troup had sporadically taken up the cause, no one had written up a log in a while. On a whim, I decided this week to keep notes and submit them. I wrote up the summary today and sent it out, and I guess it's been much appreciated. I've been obsessively re-reading it, because it's good in a completely off-hand "I just wrote this 'cause I'm bored" sort of way. I'll try it again next week to see if it's just as fun to do, but I may have found a new role in the D&D group. I just want to be loved.

Tomorrow I have a rugby executive meeting, which should be nice, and Friday there's supposed to be a rugby social event. You know, if I had a job and wasn't so stressed about money, today would have been a near-perfect day. That's the frustrating thing about my situation: until I get a job and/or a steady income, I can mostly only hope for "near-perfect".

Oo, one of my favourite songs on the CD came up. "I could be wrong. I could be right..." lalala. Music. Yeesh.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!