Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Tomato, Tomahto.

2002-06-18 - 1:48 a.m.

And because I'm just so darn neato-keen, I've added a stats monitor, because my self-esteem was way too high and I had to make sure that only 3 or so people actually visit to hear about my oh-so-exciting life. Now, in addition to my real world problems I can always whine about whether or not my site is popular.

Speaking of whining...

I'm suffering from cognitive dossonance over the whine-whinge thing. I hate whinge. I thought it wasn't a real word, just people not able to spell or use english or anything. You may not be able to tell, due to my grotesque spelling errors and typos, but I'm a bit of a snob where literacy is involved. I cringe at "whinge."

The last straw was when I saw it in a headline in a local indy-paper. I promptly went to the computer, looked up dictionary.com, and typed in "whinge," confident that they made a grevious error in 24-point letters.

No, they didn't.

Whinge is, indeed, a word. It means "whine," and rhymes with "cringe." The entries said it was uncommon, seems to be british, but is a perfectly acceptable word.

The thing is, from the times I've seen it, in most cases I'm -certain- they're misusing it, or mistaking it for "whine." They're right, but only by accident. It's driving me crazy. It makes me want to cry. Or whine. Or whinge. Whatever.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!