Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

It ended well.

2005-02-10 - 9:33 p.m.

So.

I awoke grumpy, went to work grumpy, had the busiest day yet, most of it spent being grumpy, and then went to a rugby exec meeting where the attendance (including me) was 2, grumpy.

I am not grumpy right now, and it's because of all the things that have been going right.

Pookie rearranged the livingroom/his bedroom, and I'm glad he did. I cooed when I saw it. It needed a change, and the new way looks good.

The other person who showed up at the exec meeting was the guy who makes up the other half of the exec's current infighting (because - and this is a law of nature - if you get more than one person in a room, there will be infighting). I am neutral in said infighting, because the things that bug the two major players about each other don't really bug me at all, so I was glad to hear the other side so that I can remain neutral and do my infighting-free executive job.

Also, the guy who showed up gave me some very important advice, which I don't think anyone has ever said to me, but which (I think - I must ponder the advice to death before assimilating it into my psyche) is true for me, and ought to be followed. The advice was that self-deprecation only works to a certain point after you've reached the age of 25.

Now, I've spent about twenty years building a solid repetoire of self-deprecating remarks, so it will be a challenge to start talking about myself as if I like myself, but the thing is, I do like myself most of the time. There are these little annoying things, and then there's my difficulties with associating with the human race...

But little annoying things come with being human, and I bet a lot of people don't even realize it when they're annoying, so I may have a leg up on them.

And my difficulties associating with the human race are probably part of some psychological thing that I have little control over, and anyway probably lead me to some unique observations that can only help in building my career as an author and CBC radio host of a book show.

So, perhaps I will avoid the negative comments about myself for a while (WARNING: This resolution is subject to breakage!).

Lastly, I ran into an old co-worker who I've been hoping to run into lately, and we chatted and exchanged phone numbers, and had a pleasant twenty minutes on the bus.

So, the moral is that I can be absolutely miserable for 12 hours of a day and still come out ahead.

These life lessons I like. They're so much better than the "You just screwed yourself over and now you're poor and hate yourself! AGH!" lessons.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!