Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Thanksgiving

2004-10-11 - 12:07 p.m.

Oops. I over-slept. Not a good sign, but since today is Canadian Thanksgiving, and therefore is a stat Holiday, I'll give myself some leniency. But tomorrow, boy-howdy, it's back to business!

In keeping with the general theme today, I'm thankful for a lot.

I'm thankful for the friends and family that I have in my life. Sometimes I feel lonely, and other times I'm a hermit, but whenever I've needed it, I've always been able to find someone who loves and cares for me. Gosh, I'm only one paragraph into giving thanks and I'm kind of tearing up. But really, I can't think of anything better to be thankful for than for all the wonderful, compassionate, intelligent and insightful people that I know and have known. If wealth is decided by how you love and are loved by others, I think I'm pretty darn rich.

I'm thankful that I've been able to not drink for over a year (had a drinking dream last night, though: a shot of whisky at a rugby event). I feel level-headed, I feel aware of myself in a way that used to be rare.

I'm thankful for the material wealth that I have right now: all the books, the television, the laptop, the food in the fridge. Having a place of my own. Being independent. I may not have all this in the future, but I have it now and can derive pleasure and comfort from it.

I'm thankful for rugby, but more thankful for the concept of trying something new and enjoying it. I'm thankful that discovery and surprise are still a part of my life.

I'm thankful for the weather we've had in the last few weeks. It's been alternating between warm, almost summery days and cool, sunny, perfect autumn days.

I'm thankful for the extra three weeks that I have to look for work. It's helped me develop a plan and there's a slim chance that I might actually get through the hiring process (from resume to interview to job) before 2005.

I'm thankful for the cats. Fred and Ginger, even though they're like toddlers in their terrible twos, have demonstrated time and again that I was right to adopt them. They help me smile more, they remind me to be gentle, they really help me to work on patience, and they single-pawedly make this apartment into a home.

I'm thankful for quiet moments and for the unexpected.

I'm thankful for my talents. I love writing, and if there's a chance I'm good at it, that's almost all I could ask.

I'm thankful for being able to be thankful. I have a lot that most people in the world don't.

I'm thankful that I was able to handle my problems at work in the best way I could have.

I'm sure there's more. I hope everyone has something to be thankful for, even if they live in one of those crazy countries that don't have Thanksgiving, or have Thanksgiving in a weird month.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!