Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

The Safety of Illiterates

2004-03-04 - 9:54 a.m.

Funniest thing I've read this week, from The Elements of Style, in the chapter on misused words:

"Flammable": An oddity, chiefly useful in saving lives. The common word meaning "combustible" is inflammable. But some people are thrown off by the in- and think inflammable means "not combustible." For this reason, trucks carrying gasoline or explosives are now marked "Flammable." Unless you are operating such a truck and hence are concerned with the safety of children and illiterates, use inflammable.

Also, last night, I blurted out that I was really enjoying my dictionary (I'd just looked up the definition of "jingoism"), which earned me an odd glance or two from my guests.

You may not believe this, but sometimes I'm quite a geek.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!