Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

African Visas

2002-06-20 - 5:58 a.m.

Okay, last one this morning, I think.

Just remembered something that was mentioned at the meeting that kind of upsets me.

I guess the activists wanted to form a "Solidarity Village," including around 60 speakers from Africa. This was kind of important because Africa is the world's hot spot for exploitation both of the people and the environment, and will be discussed during the G8 summit.

The problem is that they've just found out that the Federal Government has refused 58 of the 60 Visas for the speakers...

So...if anyone hears that the activists shouldn't be talking about Africa, because they don't have much of an African voice it would be a good idea to keep this in mind.

Cheers.

T.M.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!