Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Sketchy on the Details

2005-10-25 - 8:37 p.m.

Lots has happened.

I got a new job, mostly. I start November 1st. Also, I think I'm starting to really get out of this funk I've been in for the last few months. I've been level-headed and productive pretty solidly for the last three weeks or so. Just in time, for a lot of valid reasons, but especially for Nanowrimo.

Yep, it's near that time again, when crazy people attempt to write a 50,000-word novel in 30 days.

I'm planning on writing some pretty heavy stuff this year. Some of the themes that I'm going to explore will be coming from deeper than I've ever explored while writing fiction. I'm excited about it: the story interests me, the characters are already coming to life in my head, a bunch of random stuff is sparking at once. I'm trepidatious, too, because the more excited I am about something, the more honest I become, and in fiction that's a pretty substantial thing.

I've just recently decided not to talk to anyone yet about what my novel will be about. The central tragedy I had planned for my novel just happened in real life to some people just at the edge of my social circle (I don't actually know any of those directly involved), and I've had a bunch of other reminders that some subjects hit too close to home for casual conversation. Later, after I've had time to think about things, I'll be better able to talk about stuff.

Anyway, if my new job, new mood, and new devotion to writing keep up, I just might come back here a little more often.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!