Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Chicken Counting Festival

2005-07-12 - 10:12 p.m.

Three days ago, one of the rugby guys told me that he was up for a promotion and that if he got it, he would hire me for a writing job that pays a lot more than I have ever earned.

I've heard this sort of thing before, of course. There's always a friend who has an "If" that leads to riches. In the past, the "if" has usually not happened, and the riches never materialized. I've learned that when someone says something like "If I get the promotion, you're hired!" it's best to take it in good humour, appreciate the generosity of spirit that sparked the comment, and then to live your life exactly as you were living it before the friend's revelation.

Anyway, so the friend got the promotion today and says that he just needs to wait a week or so before he can fire someone and invite me in for an interview, which does not help my poor brain, which has been busy cataloguing the things I would do with a liveable income for the last three days. You know: an apartment with windows and rooms, a computer that works because I can afford to get it fixed, food that I like in the fridge...

Basically, I've figured out that this is one of those Universe jokes, where my hope for a better life will be stirred to a fevered pitch before grim reality sets back in and I'm back to a future of lifting boxes until I learn how to bend reality to my will with my mind.

But oh, can you not see that second bedroom in my imaginary two-bedroom apartment? The bedroom where no one sleeps because I've converted it into an office/gym? Can you see that big window that lets light in? Can you see the maid that I will hire to clean up after my slovenly self and won't feel guilty about it one single bit?

Imagination is a double-edged sword, my friends, and this little fantasy will cut quite deeply...

Cheers,

The Magus

PS: I'm sure that crossing fingers has never hurt anyone, so wish me luck, folks.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!