Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Assuming a Position

2005-06-29 - 12:31 a.m.

So, today the coach told me he wants me to train for 8-man. For those who don't play or watch rugby, the 8-Man is traditionally (but not always) the leader of the forwards (also called "The Pack").

I'm nervous about that level of responsibility, about learning something new, and about the possibility of being a leader of anyone in a high-stress situation. I'm proud and happy with the feeling of being recognised as improving at something I really enjoy. I'm also worried because the old 8-man, who's losing the position because of his fitness level (the coach says he has 20 minutes of glory and then stands around for the rest of the game), is becoming a friend of mine, and loved his role on the pitch.

I've changed positions before; my motto is that I just want to be on the pitch. I really want to excell as a flanker, just like I really wanted to excel as a lock. I don't think I'll be as good an 8-man as I am a flanker, but if someone wants to teach me how and someone wants me to learn, I'll do it.

I mainly wanted to whine.

Also - and this is both wonderfully obvious and annoying to me - I just realised tonight that the biggest and most crucial trait I look for in a man (or anyone) is a great capacity for kindness through sympathy and empathy. There are deal-breakers and whatnot, but a small act of gentle decency will turn me on a little bit, where abject cruelty is always a turn-off.

It's a little weird to me that kindness can also affect me on a sexual level.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!