Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Self-fulfilling?

2005-01-19 - 3:00 p.m.

Okay, so if it's really that easy, I'm so going to start each day by forcing myself to write an optimistic entry. It hasn't been a great day, like where some old fart sees my writing and decides that I'm a brilliant enough artist that he needs to give me scads of his money and a cute apartment by the waterfront until I start producing brilliant novels, but there may be causes for hope. Because I am easily fooled by life into thinking things are going well, here are the highlights:

-I discovered that by pressing "refresh" on the HRDC (Human Resources Department of Canada) Job Bank website, the search gives me about twice as many other job postings as it was showing me before, which meant that I sent out twice as many resumes.

-I went to get my taxes done, and while I was terrified that I would end up owing money (which I can't pay), it turns out that I actually will be able to get some back. Not enough, not really close to enough, but some is better than none, and it's definitely better than "negative some".

-I stopped by a little store where there was a help wanted sign and talked with the owner and things seemed to go well. It would be a heavy lifting job and he seemed really concerned that I wouldn't be there for a year. I can commit to a year if it means I'm not worrying about food anymore. Plus, it would be a non-customer service job, and it might mean that I wouldn't need to worry about paying for my gym membership all the time. He gave me an application that I will drop off for him tomorrow morning.

-When I got home, Pookie informed me that someone actually called me in regards to a resume I sent out! This is the first time this month! It's also for a security company, which was sort of a longshot thing, but a job that I'd be interested in giving a shot. Both this one and the heavy lifting one would get me away from customer service hell and would give me other stuff on my resume, which is a good thing.

So, even though nothing could come of this, it's all better than the nothing I thought I had last night.

Off I go to return the security company call. Wish me luck.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!