Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Rugby = Beer

2004-10-19 - 11:51 a.m.

So, it was actually an eventful weekend.

On the drinking front, someone nominated me as our team's "warrior of the game" or whatever for rugby, the responsibilities of which involve going toe-to-toe with the other team's warrior in a beer chugging competition. Because I don't actually drink beer, except in disturbing dreams, I chose someone to drink for me. I wish I could say it was fun watching someone who doesn't know how to chug trying to chug. I so would have won that competition. All this talent going to waste.

This is where the tough part is going to be for me...living with the fact that drinking is a fun activity, and that people around me are going to engage in it and enjoy it. Meanwhile, I'll have to be creative and use my brain for fun. Stupid brain. It doesn't even have any moveable parts.

So, because of this divide, I've been spending an awful lot of time and energy trying to invent scenarios where I could have a drink, or two, or billion. Is it possible for me to consider having a beer after a game (...er, you know, to be polite)? If everyone else is getting wasted and it's expected that they get wasted, does that mean I can get wasted, too, except this time it isn't a drinking problem but is really a social convention?

I think that somehow my brain is attempting to turn alcohol into social currency so that I can claim it as a necessary evil. "Oh, yeah, I quit drinking once, but sobriety was getting in the way of the things I really want out of life, so I had to start drinking again." Kinda like having to use money in a capitalist system: sure people get hurt, but whatcha gonna do?

Maybe it wouldn't be so bad if I was a bit more of an extrovert. The sober me is brighter, friendlier, wittier than the drunk me, but unfortunately the sober me is quite content to go two hours in a social setting without saying a single word.

I have two nicknames at rugby right now. The first, due to hair and beard, is "Jesus", the second is "Silent Magus", because I never (or hardly ever) talk.

I guess both nicknames are slightly better than "Guy who gets drunk and yells at people and then has no money for food the next day."

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!