Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Freedom (before the crippling terror of the unknown)

2004-10-08 - 9:11 a.m.

Well, I have my freedom.

They decided that, considering what I'd said yesterday, it would be in everybody's best interests if they let me go now and just pay me for the time I would have worked. It's the best sort of situation, really, but there's still the cynical part of me that is in awe that I got fired just before Thanksgiving weekend (even though it was really a "You can't quit! You're fired!" firing, which isn't quite the same as the grinch-y just-before-a-holiday canning).

Also, today was the first day ever that my supervisor asked me if I wanted some water boiled for tea. Like, why would she ask me that when she knew I was to be fired in ten minutes? Was it a subtle clue that I was in "hot water"?

I told both supervisors that they were bullies and that I hoped they eventually find careers that they're better suited for.

The cash I have will mean I have a roof over my head until December, anyway, so I now have three weeks of time where I can focus on job hunting without worrying about food and bills and whatnot.

I'm feeling...good. Not traumatised at all. I wish that I'd been able to say more, because I'm sure that all of my "You're a bully and you're mean!" fell on deaf ears and nothing's going to change (evidence: during our mediated meeting yesterday, my supervisor told me that she was used to getting called mean by people, and so has become an expert at resolving those situations. If she were a doctor who kept killing her patients, she'd be glad that she's getting all that practice at handling unfortunate incidents).

I also wanted to nick my favourite mug, which belonged to a long-gone co-worker, but of course it was filled with tea when I was let go.

As far as regrets go, being sad that I forgot a mug and didn't get to sling as much mud as I wanted to is pretty decent. I can live with that.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!