Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Lost/I quit

2004-10-07 - 3:52 p.m.

So, I put in my verbal resignation today. Tomorrow I'll submit the written, for October 31st.

I'm a bit of a wreck right now, in part because I kind of knew that I would quit but never really believed it, and in part because pretty much everyone has told me not to do it, to either make them fire me or to suffer until I had a job.

I'm not really thinking right now. But if I was, there'd probably be some self-abuse or something.

I've never quit a job before. I'm terrified.

I'm worried that I made a mountain out of a molehill and now I'll have to suffer for it.

But here's the real reason I quit, since I can be honest now (what are they gonna do, fire me?). I quit because my supervisor fired a good friend because they weren't sleeping together any more. I quit because my supervisor threatened my job during a review because I didn't do the dishes. I quit because I'm sick of the paranoia, the emails that tell us not to talk badly about work because we're wrong. I quit because of the constant increase of workload, restrictions and red tape, and most especially because they had the gall to call those changes "empowering". I quit because there is no trust on the part of my supervisors that I (or anyone in my department) am able to do my job. I quit because I'm tired of seeing people I respect and admire get treated like children or "mavericks". I quit because I work for a sexist and elitist organisation that only pays lip service to equality and free speech when someone yells at them. I quit because I refuse to be under the "we can ask you to do anything" clause in my contract for someone who believes they really can demand that I do anything.

Are those good reasons? I'm sure the list isn't exhaustive.

Okay, now is where I just sit back and let my heart-light glow as brilliantly as it ever has, right?

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!