Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Work

2004-09-27 - 8:41 a.m.

Part of the problem with trying/wanting to quit my job is that my entire support network of friends and family are either searching for work themselves or have just spent a long period of time unemployed and are still feeling the sting. I know those people are still there for me and everything, and that if I do spend a long period looking for work I'll get all the sympathy and support I'll need. In the meantime, I'll have to navigate my work problems alone, with a little help from Pookie (who's got his own biases: he's been listening to me complain about this place, to varying degrees, for three years), and just knowing that people are pulling for me.

Another part of the problem, which I realised last night, is that a part of me is wanting to draw blood. While planning what I want to say, I keep looking for the phrase that will "get through" to my supervisor. By "get through", though, I really mean "bash past her defences and destroy her utterly until she realises how much she's hurt people (including me) through her bullying, and maybe she'll cry."

But I can't do this with that as my goal. For one thing, it'll fail. I really don't think I have any weapons good enough to draw blood. For another thing, it goes against the kind of person I want to be. The whole idea of my saying anything at all was supposed to be so that maybe it might do some good.

So, I'll just have to keep thinking about this, and maybe I'll end up just saying a sentence or two: "I'm leaving because you're a poor supervisor. I hope you can become a better one or maybe find work in an area where your weaknesses aren't so harmful to others. Good luck."

The plan right now is one of minor delay, just to make sure that I have some security for October.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!