Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Rugby and Life (or something)

2004-09-23 - 9:01 p.m.

Rugby practice is fun.

There's a good chance that I'll be playing in the next game too, on Saturday. Now that I know what I'm in for, I'm kind of scared...but still excited. I feel like if I can make it through this next game, I'll know for sure whether or not rugby's for me. I'm kind of hoping it is, because I'm having so much fun.

My work situation, for good or ill, will likely be decided on Monday. I feel the same way about that, I just realized. I'm scared, but also wanting to know, finally, what's going to happen with this. I'm not sure if I'm more scared of the consequences or of the unknown. If it's the former, then I need to deal with that, plan, take action to minimize the consequences. If it's the latter, I need to face it, because I don't want to be a person who's always afraid of the unknown. It's scary, but I have to do it.

Anyway, I barely thought about work at all while playing rugby. And last night, talking with some friends, I realized that just about everything in my life is going well right now. Current troubles aside, I have a decent paycheque, a place to myself, a growing library of books and DVDs, actual furniture that doesn't look like I picked it up on the curb (even though I totally did), I'm happy with my body - how the hell did that happen? - and I'm playing and having fun outside every other day. I'm writing more this year than I ever did, I'm learning new skills (rugby and editing) and brushing up on old ones (Good ol' Frankaise), making new friends and experiencing Big Life Moments with old ones....

How lucky does one guy get?

Whatever happens this week, I know that I've accomplished a lot.

Ah, jeez, now I've gone and written another of those "The Magus lists a bunch of good things because he's feeling all thankful and emotional and stuff" entries. But hell, I write here for me, and a few months from now I might need to be reminded of how good life can get.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!