Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Rugby synopsis

2004-09-14 - 8:31 a.m.

I have the best guestbook signers ever.

Anyway, practice went well and whupped my ass, which is as it should be. The physical part is difficult (and I only did the athletic-y part - running, pushups, carrying teammates across the field - none of the actual rugby stuff like tackling or rucking or mauling (<-I love a game where you actually use the word "maul")), but it's not impossible. My philosophy is that so long as I consistently do better, I'm doing great.

It's the social aspect that strikes fear into my too-precious little heart. It's not so bad now...those guys are really friendly and non-threatening. I am worried about what will happen when I join in on a social event, because drinking is a large part of the culture of sport in general and rugby in particular. For example, by some rugby rules, when/if I score my first goal, I'm supposed to run across the field naked, and then chug beer out of the largest player on the team's boot. Or so I've heard.

I keep telling myself that grown ups don't care whether or not other grown ups drink alcohol, and I'm sure this is how it'll turn out. I can't be the world's only non-drinking rugby player.

In other news, my legs started feeling sore/stiff about 15 minutes after I stopped running, and I am too tired to think of other news. I'm in a good mood, though.

Cheers,

The Magus

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!