Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry Sign My Guestbook!
powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Random Magey Goodness




I Have Agoraphobia! See my Agoraphobia!

Tenacious D Rocks.

Single = Loser

2004-09-08 - 4:15 p.m.

Called the guy back, he wasn't in but I talked with a different CSR who told me that it was an invite for a dinner run by this travel company for me and a spouse/partner, where, if I went, I was guaranteed a prize ranging from some barbeque thing to a 10 day cruise.

Wee!

So, could I provide the name of my girlfriend or wife so they know who to expect?

Well, uh, no...because a) I'm gay and will likely never have a wife or girlfriend and because b) I'm currently single (as anyone who's been reading my diaryland diary might know).

It seems the great prizes are only available to couples. Which, first, is that not the rudest possible way of harrassing single people? "Hi, not only are you lonely, starved for sex, and quickly losing faith in humanity, but also? You don't get a cruise. Hope you can drag your sorry ass to a singles' bar soon, loser!"

I gave the lady a brief, but friendly, primer on the fact that some of her clients (or whatever we are) might actually be gay and that she might want to try using more gender-neutral language, and then that was it.

I wish I'd known it was specifically for couples only, because I so would have dragged Pookie along as "Mrs. Magus". I'm sure he wouldn't mind a 10-day cruise.

Cheers,

The Magus

PS It figures that when my singlehood is heavily on my mind that I'd get a call like that. I hope their company goes bankrupt.

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!